released in 1970
Tony Banks - Peter Gabriel - Mike Rutherford - Anthony Phillips -
John Mayhew

LOOKING FOR SOMEONE (Banks/L: Gabriel/Rutherford/Phillips)

Looking for someone, I guess I'm doing that
Trying to find a mem'ry in a dark room
Dirty man, you're looking like a Buddha
I know you well - yeah -

Keep on a straight line, I don't believe I can
Trying to find a needle in a haystack
Chlly wind you're piercing like a dagger
It hurts me so - yeah -

Nobody needs to discover me
I'm back again
You see the sunlight through the
Trees to keep you warm
In peaceful shades of green
Yet in the darkness of my mind
Damascus wasn't far behind

Lost in a subway, I guess I'm losing time
There's a man looking at a magazine
You're such a fool, your mumbo-jumbo
Never tells me anything - yeah -

Nobody needs to discover me
I'm back again
You feel the ashes from the
Fire that keep you warm
Its comfort disappears
And still the only friend I know
Will never tell me where to go

Looking for someone
And now I've found myself a name
Come away, leave me
All that I have I will give
Leave me, leave me
All that I am I will give

WHITE MOUNTAIN (L: Banks/Gabriel/Rutherford/Phillips)

Thin hung the web like a trap in a cage
The fox lay asleep in his lair
Fang's frantic paws told the tale of his sin
Far off the chase shrieked revenge
Outcast he trespassed where no wolf my tread
The last sacred haunt of the dead
He learnt of a truth which only one wolk may know
The sceptre and crown of a king
Howling for blood, One-eye leads on the pack
Plunging through forest and snowstorm

Steep rose the ridge, ghostly peaks climbed the sky
Fang sped through jungles of ice
Hard on his tail, One-ey drew from the pack -
An old hero conquered by none
Steep, far too steep, grew the pathway ahead
Descent was the only escape
A wolf never flees in the face of his foe
Fang knew the price he would pay
One-eye stood before him
With the crown upon his head
Sceptre raised to deal the deadly blow

Fang, son of Great Fang, the traitor we seek
The laws of the brethren say this:
That only the king sees the crown of the gods
And he, the usurper, must die
Snarling he tore at the throat of his foe
But Fang fought the herd in vain
Dawn saw the white mountain tinted with red -
Never would the crown leave again
One-eye hid the crown and with laurels on his head
Returned amongst the tribe and dwelt in peace

VISIONS OF ANGELS (Banks/Gabriel/Rutherford/L: Phillips)

Standing in a forest gazing at the sun
Looking at the trees but there's not even one
See a rippling stream that smiles and then goes by
run to feel its comfort but the water's dry

I see her face and run to take her hand
Why she is never there I don't understand
the trumpets sound my whole world crumbles down

Visions of angels all around
dance in the sky
Leaving me here
forever goodbye

As the leaves will crumble so will fall my love
for the fragile beauty of our lives must fade
Though I once remember echoes of my youth
now I sense no past, no love that ends in love

Take this dream the stars have filled with light
As the blossom glides like snowflakes from the trees
In vengeance to a god no-one can reach

Visions of angels all around
dance in the sky
Leaving me here
forever goodbye

Ice is moving and world's begin to freeze
see the sunlight stopped and deadened by the breeze
Minds are empty bodies more insensitive
some believe that when they die they really live

I belive there never is an end
God gave up this world its people long ago
Why she's never there I still don't understand

Vision's of angels all around
dance in the sky
Leaving me here
Forever goodbye

STAGNATION (Banks/L: Gabriel/Rutherford/Phillips)

Here today the red sky tells his tale
but only listening eyes are mine
There is peace amongst the hills
and the night will cover all my pride
Blest are they who smile from bodies free
seems to me like any other crowd
who are waiting to be saved

Wait, there is still time for washing in the pool
wash away the past
Moon, my long-lost friend is smiling from above
smiling at my tears
Come we'll walk the path to take us to my home
keep outisde the night
The ice-cold knife has come to decorate the dead

And each will find a home
And there will still be time
for loving my friend
- You are there -
And I will wait for ever, beside the silent mirror
and fish for bitter minnows amongst the weeds and
slimy water

I want to sit down
I want a drink - I want a dring
To take all the dust and the dirt from my throat
To wash out the filth that is deep in my guts

[repeat and fade]

DUSK (Banks/Gabriel/Rutherford/L: Phillips)

See my hand is trembling
touching all that's real
Once it stroked love's body
now it claws the past

The scent of a flower
The colours of the morning
Friends to believe in
Tears soon forgotten
See how the rain drives away, another day

If a leave is fallen
does the tree lie broken?
If we draw some water
does the well run dry?

The sigh of a mother
The screaming of lovers
Like two angry tigers
They tear at each other
See how for him lifetime's fears disappear

Once Jesus suffered
Heaven could not see him
Now my shit is sinking
Teh captain stands alone

A pawn on the chessboard
A false move by God will now destroy me
But wait, on the horizon
A new dawn seems to be rising
Never to recall the passerby, born to die

THE KNIFE (Banks/L: Gabriel/Rutherford/Phillips)

Tell me my life is about to begin
Tell me that I am a hero
Promise me all of our violent dreams
Light up your body with anger
Now, in this ugly world
it is time to destroy this evil
Now, when I give the world
are you ready to fight for your freedom?
Now -

Stand up and fight, for you know we are right
We must strike at the lies
That have spread like disease through our minds
Soon we'll have power, every soldier will rest
And we'll spread out our kindness 
To all who our love now diserve
Some of you are going to die
Martyrs of course ot the freedom that I shall provide

I'll give you the names of those you must kill
All must die with their children
Carry their heads to the palace of old
Have them on stakes let the blood flow
Now, in this hate-filled world
we must break all the chains that have bound us
Now, the crusade has begun
we shall make this a land fit for heroes

Stand up and fight, for you know we are right
We are only wanting freedom
Some of you are going to die
Martyrs of course to the freedom that I shall provide


Peter Gabriel:  lead voice, flute, accordion, tambourine, bass drum
Anthony Phillips:  acoustic 12 string, lead electric, dulcimer, voices
Anthony Banks:  organ, piano, mellotron, guitar, voices
Michael Rutherford:  acoustic 12 string, electric bass, nylon, cello,
John Mayhew:  Drums, Percussion

Go back to The Moonlit Knight's Lyric List